Hank’s Big Day: The Story of a Bug

#ad
Schwartz & Wade #ad - His daily routine involves nibbling a dead leaf, and playing pretend with his best friend, avoiding a skateboarder, a human girl named Amelia, climbing up a long stick, in her backyard. And when day is done, Hank likes nothing better than returning home to his cozy rock. Perfect for reading aloud, this spare, charming picture book about a day in the life of a pill bug in suburbia is also about an unusual friendship.

. Hank is a pill bug with a busy life—for a pill bug, that is. Schwartz wade.

#ad



Not Norman: A Goldfish Story

#ad
Candlewick #ad - Definitely not Norman. He wanted a different kind of pet — one that could run and catch, or chase string and climb trees, a soft furry pet to sleep on his bed at night. A sweet story that could be used as a springboard to discussion of the pitfalls of making snap judgments about pets — or people. School library journalNorman the goldfish isn’t what this little boy had in mind.

Jones tell an unexpected — and positively fishy — tale about finding the good in something you didn’t knowyou wanted. Candlewick. But when he tries to trade Norman for a "good pet, " things don’t go as he planned. Could it be that norman is a better pet than he thought? With wry humor and lighthearted affection, author Kelly Bennett and illustrator Noah Z.

#ad



Little Red and the Very Hungry Lion

#ad
Scholastic Press #ad - Scholastic. Little red is on her way to visit Auntie Rosie with a basket of goodies and some spot medicine. The lion is eager to gobble up Little Red. Smith's fun, bold art brings Little Red Riding Hood to life in a refreshing new way that will delight young readers. It's a classic fairy tale with a safari twist! Alex T.

Candlewick. The lion's plan doesn't work out the way he wanted. Along the way she meets the Very Hungry Lion. Little red and the very hungry Lion is a fractured fairy tale version of Little Red Riding Hood.

#ad



Fabulous Frogs

#ad
Candlewick #ad - Discover the goliath frog, biggest in the world, and the Darwin’s frog, which has a pointy nose and holds its tadpoles in its mouth until they are big enough to care for themselves. Learn why some frogs are brightly colored, and which one can bury itself in the desert until rain comes. Curious minds will jump at the chance to explore all kinds of frogs, from the most exotic to the greenish-brown specimens in their own backyards.

Scholastic. There are so many kinds of frogs in the world — more than 5, 000! — and all of them are fabulous. Huge frogs, tiny frogs, hairy frogs, and flying frogs hop through the pages of this colorful nonfiction book. Candlewick.

#ad



It Came in the Mail

#ad
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers #ad - Scholastic. From the author-illustrator of something Extraordinary comes a tale filled with dragons, friendship, pickles, and lots of mail--perfect for fans of Mo Willems and Bob Shea. Liam really wants some mail, so he writes a letter to his mailbox asking for something in return. Candlewick. His mailbox delivers, sending Liam more than he could have hoped for.

. And how! but as the mail starts to pile up, Liam realizes that the best packages and parcels are even better when shared with friends.

#ad



Mae Among the Stars

#ad
HarperCollins #ad - She imagined herself surrounded by billions of stars, floating, gliding, and discovering. She wanted to be an astronaut. Her mom told her, and work hard for it, "If you believe it, anything is possible. Little mae’s curiosity, matched with her parents' encouraging words, and determination, intelligence, paved the way for her incredible success at NASA as the first African American woman to travel in space.

This book will inspire other young girls to reach for the stars, to aspire for the impossible, and to persist with childlike imagination. Scholastic. An amazon best book of the montha beautiful picture book for sharing, inspired by the life of the first African American woman to travel in space, Mae Jemison.

Mae Among the Stars #ad - A great classroom and bedtime read-aloud, mae Among the Stars is the perfect book for young readers who have big dreams and even bigger hearts!When Little Mae was a child, she dreamed of dancing in space. Candlewick.

#ad



The William Hoy Story: How a Deaf Baseball Player Changed the Game

#ad
Albert Whitman & Company #ad - Albert Whitman Company. After losing out on a spot on the local deaf team, William practiced even harder—eventually earning a position on a professional team. But his struggle was far from over. In addition to the prejudice Hoy faced, he could not hear the umpires' calls. William “dummy" hoy became one of the greatest and most beloved players of his time!the william hoy story is also on several book lists: 2016 new york public library best books for kids 2017 Texas 2x2 Reading List 2017 Texas Topaz Nonfiction Reading List 2017 Best Children's Books of the Year, Bank Street College 2017-2018 Charter Oak Children's Book Award List Connecticut 2017-2018 Kennebec Valley Book Award List 2018 Illinois Monarch Award Master List 2018-2019 Louisiana Young Readers' Choice List Candlewick.

. Winner - 2017 storytelling world resource award honor book Finalist - 2017 North Texas Book Festival Best Children's Books All William Ellsworth Hoy wanted to do was play baseball. Scholastic. That day he not only got on base but also changed the way the game was played forever. One day he asked the umpire to use hand signals: strike, ball, out.

#ad



The Quickest Kid in Clarksville

#ad
Chronicle Books #ad - Scholastic. It doesn't matter that Alta's shoes have holes because Wilma came from hard times, too. She'll be riding on a float tomorrow. But what happens when a new girl with shiny new shoes comes along and challenges Alta to a race? Will she still be the quickest kid? The Quickest Kid in Clarksville is a timeless story of dreams, determination, and the power of friendship.

See, tennessee, alta is the quickest kid in Clarksville, just like Wilma once was. Albert Whitman Company. Alta can only think about one thing: Wilma Rudolph, three-time Olympic gold medalist. It's the day before the big parade. Candlewick. Chronicle Books.

#ad



Little Melba and Her Big Trombone

#ad
Lee & Low Books #ad - At age seven, shiny trombone, Melba fell in love with a big, and soon taught herself to play the instrument. Brimming with ebullience and the joy of making music, Little Melba and Her Big Trombone is a fitting tribute to a trailblazing musician and a great unsung hero of jazz. Chronicle Books. As a child, she daydreamed about beats and lyrics, and hummed along with the music from her family s Majestic radio.

Melba doretta liston loved the sounds of music from as far back as she could remember. By the time she was a teenager, Melba s extraordinary gift for music led her to the world of jazz. Albert Whitman Company. Scholastic. She joined a band led by trumpet player Gerald Wilson and toured the country. Candlewick. Overcoming obstacles of race and gender, duke ellington, count basie, and Quincy Jones, spinning rhythms, and melodies into gorgeous songs for all the jazz greats of the twentieth century: Randy Weston, Melba went on to become a famed trombone player and arranger, harmonies, Billie Holiday, to name just a few.

#ad



Freedom in Congo Square Charlotte Zolotow Award

#ad
little bee books #ad - This book will have a forward from Freddi Williams Evans freddievans. Com, a historian and congo Square expert, as well as a glossary of terms with pronunciations and definitions. Awards:a kirkus reviews best book of 2016a school library journal best Book of 2016: NonfictionStarred reviews from School Library Journal, Kirkus Reviews, Booklist, and The Horn Book Magazine Candlewick.

This story chronicles slaves' duties each day, from chopping logs on Mondays to baking bread on Wednesdays to plucking hens on Saturday, and builds to the freedom of Sundays and the special experience of an afternoon spent in Congo Square. Here they were free to set up an open market, sing, dance, and play music.

They were free to forget their cares, their struggles, and their oppression. Chosen as a new york times best illustrated book of 2016, this poetic, nonfiction story about a little-known piece of African American history captures a human's capacity to find hope and joy in difficult circumstances and demonstrates how New Orleans' Congo Square was truly freedom's heart.

Freedom in Congo Square Charlotte Zolotow Award #ad - Mondays, there were hogs to slop, mules to train, and logs to chop. Slavery was no ways fair. Six more days to Congo Square. As slaves relentlessly toiled in an unjust system in 19th century Louisiana, they all counted down the days until Sunday, when at least for half a day they were briefly able to congregate in Congo Square in New Orleans.

Chronicle Books.

#ad



Ocean Animals from Head to Tail

#ad
Kids Can Press #ad - Albert Whitman Company. For example, readers learn that a blue whale's mouth contains baleen, which help it capture krill to eat, and that the tail of a seahorse curls so it can hold on to sea plants for stability. Paper collage illustrations by Kwanchai Moriya in bright, eye-catching colors bring the animals to vivid and appealing life.

The fun, interactive nature of the guessing game makes this book ideal for a read-aloud. First, readers are shown a close-up illustration of an unusual part of an animal's body and asked to guess its owner: ?What ocean animal has a head like this?? Then the following spread reveals the animal's name e. G.

Ocean Animals from Head to Tail #ad - A hammerhead shark!?, along with an illustration of the whole animal in its habitat. Young children will recognize that every animal has its own distinctive features and body parts that help it survive. There's also a brief description of the animal's traits with a special emphasis on the featured body part.

Scholastic. Chronicle Books. Little bee. A bonus spread includes information on eight more ocean animals. This nonfiction picture book uses a playful guessing game to introduce eight different ocean animals and some unique aspects of their bodies.

#ad